B-CU’s Scott Named Preseason Player of the Year; NSU and B-CU Named Preseason Favorites 


NORFOLK, Va., Oct. 22, 2020 – Bethune-Cookman University senior forward Amaya Scott was named the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Women’s Basketball Preseason Player of the Year, presented by TowneBank, the conference announced today. Norfolk State was selected as the preseason favorite to win the MEAC’s Northern Division, while Bethune-Cookman was tabbed to win the MEAC’s Southern Division.

All awards were voted on by the conference’s head coaches and sports information directors.

Scott, a First Team All-MEAC honoree who helped lead the Lady Wildcats to the regular-season title and a 15-1 mark in conference play in 2019-20, led the MEAC in field goal percentage last season – hitting 52.5 percent of her shots from the floor. She also ranked top 10 in the league in scoring (8th, 12.9 ppg) and rebounding (10th, 6.6 rpg).

In MEAC play, Scott led the MEAC in field goal percentage (.545) and was tied for fifth in scoring (15.9 ppg).

Joining Scott on the Preseason All-MEAC First Team are teammate Daniella Hatcher, Jayla Thornton of Howard, Morgan State’s Dahnye Redd and North Carolina Central’s Anissa Rivera.

The 2021 MEAC Basketball Tournament will be held March 8-13 at the Norfolk Scope Arena in Norfolk, Va.

 2020-21 Preseason All-MEAC Teams 

As voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors 

Preseason Player of the Year: Amaya Scott, Bethune-Cookman

First Team 

Name                              Pos.    Ht.     Class  School                    Hometown

Daniella Hatcher          G          5-8       r-Sr.     Bethune-Cookman       Orlando, Fla.

Amaya Scott                F          6-1       Sr.        Bethune-Cookman       Sunrise, Fla.

Jayla Thornton            G          5-9       Sr.        Howard                        Newark, N.J.

Dahnye Redd               F          5-11    r-Sr.     Morgan State               Darby, Pa.

Anissa Rivera              F          6-1       So.       N.C. Central                 Capitol Heights, Md.


Second Team 

Name                              Pos.    Ht.     Class  School                    Hometown 

Sharajah Collins         G/F      5-7       Sr.        Delaware State            Winter Haven, Fla.

Ashia McCalla            G          5-6       Jr.        Morgan State               Greenbelt, Md.

Deja Winters             F          5-11    Sr.        N.C. A&T State             Cleveland, Ohio

Kieche White             G          5-4       Sr.        N.C. Central                 Washington, D.C.

Heniaya Moton          G          5-7       Sr.        S.C. State                    Washington, D.C. 


Third Team 

Name                              Pos.    Ht.     Class  School                    Hometown 

Aliyah Lawson             G          5-7       Jr.        Coppin State                Whitby, Ontario

Lyric Turner                G          5-7       Sr.        Delaware State            Mansfield, Texas

Krislyn Marsh             F          6-0       Jr.        Howard                        Houston, Texas

Brooklyn Bailey          G          5-4       Jr.        Maryland E. Shore       Rock Hill, S.C.

Jayla Jones-Pack        F/C      6-3       Sr.        N.C. A&T State             Amityville, N.Y.

About the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference

The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) celebrates its 50th year of intercollegiate competition with the 2020-21 academic school year. Located in Norfolk, Va., the MEAC is made up of 11 outstanding historically black institutions across the Atlantic coastline: Bethune-Cookman University, Coppin State University, Delaware State University, Florida A&M University, Howard University, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Morgan State University, Norfolk State University, North Carolina A&T State University, North Carolina Central University and South Carolina State University.

(Story and Information courtesy of the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference)