Hinson, Carrington, and Leggett Earn ACC Accolades


PITTSBURGH – A trio of Panthers claimed Atlantic Coast Conference honors Monday as announced by the league office on ACC PM on the ACC Network. Blake Hinson grabbed First Team All-ACC recognition, with Carlton Carrington earning All-Rookie Team and Honorable Mention All-ACC status, and Ishmael Leggett garnering Sixth Man of the Year accolades.

Pitt, 21-10 overall and 12-8 in ACC play, enters this week’s ACC Tournament as the four-seed after winning 11 of its past 14 contests. The Panthers rank among the NCAA leaders with seven true road wins, including victories at nationally ranked Duke and Virginia. Pitt returns to action in the ACC Tournament Quarterfinals Thursday, March 14 (2:30 p.m.) at Capital One Arena in Washington, D.C.

Hinson earned all-conference honors and became Pitt’s second consecutive First Team All-ACC pick after averaging 18.8 points and 4.6 rebounds per game this season. He leads the league with 106 three-point field goals, while shooting 42.4 percent from beyond the arc, and enters postseason play with 27 double-figure scoring games, including 14 games with 20 or more points scored. Hinson became the fourth fastest player to 1,000 career points in program history this season and continues to climb the record books in scoring and three-point field goals. Hinson’s 106 three-point field goals also ranks as 15th most in ACC history.

Carrington has put together an outstanding rookie campaign averaging 13.6 points, 5.2 rebounds., and 4.2 assists, while making 60 three-point field goals. He is the only freshman in the country averaging at least 13.0 points, 5.0 rebounds, and 4.0 assists per game. The Baltimore, Md., native has 22 double-figure scoring games, 15 games with 15 or more points, and four 20+ point games for the Panthers. A five-time ACC Player of the Week selection, Carrington is Pitt’s second ACC All-Rookie Team selection.

The ACC Sixth Man of the Year comes from Pitt for the second consecutive year as Leggett collected the honor for the 2023-24 campaign. He closed the regular season averaging 11.9 points, an ACC-guard leading 5.5 rebounds, 2.0 assists, and 1.2 steals per game. Leggett has scored in double figures 22 times and collected five or more rebounds in 19 games. Pitt is 11-3 over the past 14 games with Leggett the first Panther off the bench in each of those contests.

2023-24 ALL-ACC TEAM


Name, School                                                    Points

RJ Davis, North Carolina                                 373

PJ Hall  Clemson                                                363

Kyle Filipowski, Duke                                       346

Hunter Sallis, Wake Forest                            292

Blake Hinson, Pitt                                            280


Armando Bacot, North Carolina                  271

Reece Beekman, Virginia                               263

Judah Mintz, Syracuse                                    219

Norchad Omier, Miami                                   172

Quinten Post, Boston College                       135


DJ Horne, NC State                                           109

Harrison Ingram, North Carolina                 91

Jeremy Roach, Duke                                        85

Markus Burton, Notre Dame                        69

Sean Pedulla, Virginia Tech                           62


Joseph Girard III, Clemson                            54

Jamir Watkins, Florida State                         47

Jared McCain, Duke                                         29

Ian Schieffelin, Clemson                                 24

Miles Kelly, Georgia Tech                               16

Carlton Carrington, Pitt                                 12

Brandon Huntley-Hatfield, Louisville         10

Ryan Dunn, Virginia                                         10

Note: All-ACC Team points are determined on a 5-3-1 system (five points for first team, three points for second team, one point for third team).

Player of the Year

RJ Davis, North Carolina                                 68 votes

Kyle Filipowski, Duke                                       3

PJ Hall, Clemson                                                2

Armando Bacot, North Carolina                  1

Quinten Post, Boston College                       1

Defensive Player of the Year

Reece Beekman, Virginia                               43 votes

Ryan Dunn, Virginia                                         19

Armando Bacot, North Carolina                  4

Maliq Brown, Syracuse                                   4

Quinten Post, Boston College                       2

Jaeden Zackery, Boston College                   1

Jack Clark, Clemson                                         1

Quadir Copeland, Syracuse                           1

Rookie of the Year

Markus Burton, Notre Dame                        46 votes

Jared McCain, Duke                                         20

Carlton Carrington, Pitt                                 5

Baye Ndongo, Georgia Tech                          2

Caleb Foster, Duke                                            1

Kyshawn George, Miami                                1

Most Improved Player

Ian Schieffelin, Clemson                                 30 votes

Hunter Sallis, Wake Forest                            18

Lynn Kidd, Virginia Tech                                 12

Harrison Ingram, North Carolina                 5

Brandon Huntley-Hatfield, Louisville         3

Maliq Brown, Syracuse                                   3

Devin McGlockton, Boston College            3

Isaac McKneely, Virginia                                 1

Sixth Man Of the Year

Ishmael Leggett, Pitt                                      33 votes

Quadir Copeland, Syracuse                           20

Seth Trimble, North Carolina                        6

Kyle Sturdivant, Georgia Tech                      5

Mason Madsen, Boston College                  4

Primo Spears, Florida State                          4

Caleb Foster, Duke                                            3

Coach of the Year

Hubert Davis, North Carolina                       49 votes

Jeff Capel, Pitt                                                   12

Adrian Autry, Syracuse                                   6

Micah Shrewsberry, Notre Dame                3

Jon Scheyer, Duke                                             2

Damon Stoudamire, Georgia Tech             1

Brad Brownell, Clemson                                1

Tony Bennett, Virginia                                     1

All-Defensive Team

Reece Beekman, Virginia                               73 votes

Ryan Dunn, Virginia                                         65

Maliq Brown, Syracuse                                   48

Armando Bacot, North Carolina                  26

Quinten Post, Boston College                       21

All-Rookie Team

Markus Burton, Notre Dame                        73 votes

Jared McCain, Duke                                         73

Carlton Carrington, Pitt                                 65

Baye Ndongo, Georgia Tech                          60

Elliot Cadeau, North Carolina                       39


Source: Matt Plizga/Pitt Athletics