Pitt’s Consensus All-Americans


                Pitt’s Jones and Weaver Earn Consensus All-America Statu

PITTSBURGH—Pitt senior defensive ends Patrick Jones II and Rashad Weaver each earned consensus All-America status for the 2020 season, the NCAA announced today.

(Photo Courtesy of Pitt Athletics )

Pitt is one of only four schools to have multiple consensus All-Americans this season, joining Alabama, Ohio State and Notre Dame.


The NCAA uses five All-America selectors to determine an annual college football Consensus All-America Team: Associated Press, American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), Sporting News and Walter Camp Football Foundation.


A total of 29 players were named to the 2020 Consensus All-America Team as they received the most first-team selections at their respective positions. A minimum of two first-team honors are needed to earn consensus All-America status.


Jones (Chesapeake, Va./Grassfield) was named a first team All-American by Sporting News and Walter Camp. He was a second-team pick by the Associated Press and AFCA.


Weaver (Fort Lauderdale, Fla./Cooper City) was selected first team by four of the selectors (AP, AFCA, FWAA and Walter Camp). He was a second-team Sporting News pick.


Pitt now has 53 all-time consensus All-Americans to rank ninth among all Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools.


The last time Pitt had two players earn consensus All-America honors in the same season was 1986 (offensive tackle Randy Dixon and defensive end Tony Woods).


The Panthers last had two defensive consensus All-Americans in the same year in 1977 (tackle Randy Holloway and safety Bob Jury).


Pitt’s all-time consensus All-Americans:


1915: Robert Peck, Center

1916: Robert Peck, Center
1916: James Herron, End
1917: Jock Sutherland, Guard
1917: Dale Sies, Guard
1918: Tom Davies, Back
1918: Leonard Hilty, Tackle
1918: George McLaren, Back
1920: Herb Stein, Center
1921: Herb Stein, Center
1925: Ralph Chase, Tackle
1927: Gilbert Welch, Back (Unanimous)
1928: Mike Getto, Tackle
1929: Joe Donchess, End (Unanimous)
1929: Ray Montgomery, Guard
1931: Jesse Quatse, Tackle
1932: Joe Skladany, End
1932: Warren Heller, Back (Unanimous)
1933: Joe Skladany, End
1934: Charles Hartwig, End
1934: George Shotwell, Guard
1936: Averell Daniell, Tackle
1937: Tony Matisi, Tackle
1937: Marshall Goldberg, Back
1938: Marshall Goldberg, Back (Unanimous)
1956: Joe Walton, End (Unanimous)
1958: John Guzik, Guard
1960: Mike Ditka, End (Unanimous)
1963: Paul Martha, Back
1976: Tony Dorsett, Running Back (Unanimous)
1976: Al Romano, Defensive Lineman
1977: Randy Holloway, Defensive Lineman
1977: Bob Jury, Defensive Back
1977: Tom Brzoza, Center
1978: Hugh Green, Defensive End
1979: Hugh Green, Defensive End (Unanimous)
1980: Hugh Green, Defensive End (Unanimous)
1980: Mark May, Offensive Tackle (Unanimous)
1981: Sal Sunseri, Linebacker
1982: Jimbo Covert, Offensive Lineman
1983: Bill Fralic, Offensive Lineman (Unanimous)
1984: Bill Fralic, Offensive Lineman (Unanimous)
1986: Randy Dixon, Offensive Lineman
1986: Tony Woods, Defensive Lineman
1987: Craig Heyward, Running Back
1988: Mark Stepnoski, Offensive Lineman
1990: Brian Greenfield, Punter
2000: Antonio Bryant, Wide Receiver
2003: Larry Fitzgerald, Wide Receiver (Unanimous)
2013: Aaron Donald, Defensive Lineman (Unanimous)
2016: Quadree Henderson, Kick Returner/All-Purpose
2020: Patrick Jones II, Defensive Lineman
2020: Rashad Weaver, Defensive Lineman


(This story and information courtesy of the University of Pittsburgh Athletics)