Carrington Named to Freshmen All-America Team

The Baltimore, Md., native scored in double figures 23 times. (Image Credit: Vince Butts/UMT).

PITTSBURGH – Pitt guard Carlton Carrington has been named to the Freshmen All-America Team and is a finalist for the 2023-24 Kyle Macy National Freshman of the Year award.

Carrington, an Honorable Mention All-ACC and ACC All-Rookie Team selection, was the only freshman in the NCAA to average at least 13.5 points, 5.0 rebounds, and 4.0 assists per game this past season, while helping lead the Panthers to a 22-11 record overall and a fourth-place finish in the ACC. He finished his first year at Pitt averaging 13.8 points, 5.2 rebounds, and 4.1 assists per game, while making 65 three-point field goals. The Baltimore, Md., native scored in double figures 23 times, including five games with 20 or more points scored. He opened his career with a triple-double (18 points, 12 rebounds, 10 assists) against NC A&T and closed the season with a 24-point effort against No. 4 North Carolina in the ACC Tournament Semifinals.

Carrington in the Pitt Freshmen Record Books

  • 5x ACC Rookie of the Week selection (2nd)
  • 456 points (2nd) … 13.8 ppg. (4th)
  • 1,986 minutes played (1st) … 33.2 minutes per game (4th)
  • 5 20+ point games (T-5th)
  • 23 double-figure scoring games (T-5th)
  • 159 field goals (T-3rd)
  • 386 field goal attempts (1st)
  • 65 three-point field goals (2nd)
  • 202 three-point attempts (1st)
  • 136 assists (4th) … 4.1 apg. (4th)
  • 7 three-point field goals at Boston College (T-1st) … 27 points at Boston College (8th)

The award is named for a guard who starred as a freshman for Purdue. The 1975 Indiana Mr. Basketball, Kyle Macy played his freshman season at Purdue University, averaging 13.8 points per game while leading the Boilermakers in free throws (85.9 percent for the season). He started in 25 of 27 games, helping them to a 16-11 season record.

After one season in West Lafayette, Indiana, Macy transferred to the University of Kentucky in 1976. He started every game for the Wildcats in 1977. A three-time All-America and three-time All-SEC player, Macy was a member of Kentucky’s 1978 National Championship team. In his senior year of 1979-80, he became the first Kentucky player ever to be named consensus Southeastern Conference Player of the Year.

The recipient of the annual award is determined by a 10-member voting committee, which consists of current and former head coaches, as well as two senior staff members of

The 2024 award will be announced in Phoenix, AZ, site of the men’s Division I Basketball Championship.


Xavier Amos, Northern Illinois

Juslin Bodo Bodo, High Point

Xzayvier Brown, Saint Joseph’s

Markus Burton, Notre Dame

Elliot Cadeau, North Carolina

Carlton Carrington, Pitt

Stephon Castle, Connecticut

Isaiah Collier, USC

Rob Dillingham, Kentucky

David Douglas Jr., Green Bay

PJ Haggerty, Tulsa

Barrington Hargress, UC Riverside

Josh Hubbard, Mississippi State

Malik Mack, Harvard

Sebastian Mack, UCLA

Jared McCain, Duke

Baye Ndongo, Georgia Tech

Kevin Overton, Drake

Josh Pascarelli, Marist

Myles Rice, Washington State

Cooper Schwieger, Valparaiso

Jackson Shelstad, Oregon

Reed Sheppard, Kentucky

Javan Simmons, Toledo

Deywilk Tavarez, Delaware State

Dedan Thomas Jr., UNLV

JT Toppin, New Mexico

D.J. Wagner, Kentucky

Ja’Kobe Walter, Baylor

Cody Williams, Colorado

Source: Matt Plizga/Pitt Athletics