[Atlanta,Ga] Saturday night Tennessee State Wide receiver Chris Rowland was named the 2019 Black College Football Player of the Year. Rowland was awarded the “The Deacon Jones Trophy” while being  recognized and honored at the fourth annual Black College Football Hall of Fame induction ceremony held at the College Football Hall of Fame.

The presentation of the  “Decon Jones Trophy”  was part of the induction ceremony for the  Black College Football Hall of Fame class of 2020. The event honored the newest members to enter the hall.  Earl “Air” Harvey,James “Hound Dog” Hunter,Robert Mathis, Erik Williams, Coach Joe Taylor and Commissioner Dennis Thomas.

Rowland a 5′ 8″ Wide Receiver from Nolensville , Tennessee dazzled Tigers faithful for four years and concluded his college career with  1,437 Receiving yards in his senior season. The 2019 TAJT10 Black College All American also finished #1 in FCS and Black College Football with 2,110 All-Purpose yards during the 2019 football season.


The Ohio Valley Conference Player of the Year (who accomplished the feat of scoring from four positions this season) was one of four finalists for the prestigious award; he was joined by Florida A&M Quarterback Ryan Stanley , North Carolina A&T Running Back Jah-Maine Martin and Alcorn State QB Felix Harper.



Rowland was also only the second player in Ohio Valley Conference history to haul in 100 receptions.The Tennessee State Tigers’ 104 receptions were the most by any HBCU football player in FCS Football history.


Rowland is the third HBCU Player to Receive the Deacon Jones Award Since its Inception in 2016. Previous winners included North Carolina A&T Running Back Tarik Cohen and  Bowie State Quarterback Amir “Showtime” Hall, who won the award twice.

Trevin A Jones

Follow me on Twitter:  @UMTSportsreport



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here